Today's blog is about the excerpts on Collborative Writing in Composition Studies by Fontaine and Hunter. The first chapter talked about the concept of intertextuality, knowledge and language of collaboration, and learning how to become part of a conversation. The article concentrates a lot on the knowledge of the language and what we hear helpes us create new ideas. It looked at how to enter in a conversation that has already begun, how we make choices of what we say in conversations. and how this all plays a role in collabration. I know throug my expereince in my education we do a lot of activities that requires group work and collaboration with one another. We are taught to become a learning community and that we all help each other and learn from one another. I always felt that even though I am very independent when working with others I gain a new insight on things and a new knowledge of things I didnt know much of.
The third chapter of this excerpt focused on moving into a collaborative writing from being solo more on focusing on the cooperation on others when working together. This also plays a huge role in my education because I am very independent and like to do things independtly because of depending on others. Its hard to let go of the leadership when working with others because I want to achieve the highest but letting others take part of that control scares me because of grading. I do see the benefit of working with others because you can gain an insight on other skills, experience, and knowledge that is different from my own for my writing. I think its very important when collaborating is that everyone is together on things because some may think their collaborating when their writing their own pieces and just putting them together as a group.
This excerpt was very important to read due to collaborating with other students to conduct our project for writing, research, and technology. I do feel with our group that we work well and feed of of each person's knowledge and opinions. I don't know how our group will work out when collaborating together for this project so far it seems that we will fine but for me I am always hestiant because you need to depend on others when working together and having grades be part of this its very difficult for myself to let go. Will only have to wait and see how our assignment works out and see how we can work together to make this happen the most successfully.
Fabio DiColandrea
11/30/2011 12:02:07 am

I definitely agree that it's important to feed off of each others knowledge and opinions. Sometimes collaborating isn't always the easiest, but I think it can be done if everyone works together.

Reply



Leave a Reply.