After going through the blog, Slow Food, I found many interesting articles to read but the one I am blogging about is, Denver Crop Mobs: Gathering Forces to Help Sustainable Farms. This blog was about hope this organization "crop mob" was created to help local farms of their everyday task and what it takes to have a farm. I thought this blog was great because it showed how other people in the community got involved to help local farms. I chose this blog because our group is focusing on local farms and want to gather as much information as possible to for our project, This article open a new insight to me that there are organizations out there to help local farms out with people especially chidlren to get involved in their local farms and be aware of the food they eat. 
    I honestly never was so excited to do a project unitl being assigned to do this one. I am really interested in the local farming and the food we eat. I think it's great that there are organizations out there willing to help these small farms and not the big corporations who are controlling what the people put into their mouths. It allows people to become aware of the produce being produced, the labor it takes to take care of these farms, and the nutritional and beneficial aspects of using local produce.

 http://www.slowfoodusa.org/index.php/slow_food/blog_post/denver_crop
_mobs_gathering_forces_to_help_sustainable_farms1/


If you want to find out more about crop mob and the local organizations around you. Visit this website: http://cropmob.org/
Tricia
11/29/2011 01:40:16 pm

I'm excited to find out more about local farms for our project as well! The crop mop movement sounds interesting - something that we could possibly mention during our interview. Local farms were touched on in the blog I read, also, because the lady in it went to a local farm to buy her food to cook a meal for a couple of friends. She was advised by a cookbook she read to ask more questions about where the food she buys comes from which is why she opted to buy from a local market. Hopefully both of these will be able to help us for our project!

Reply
Eileen
11/29/2011 11:59:43 pm

Sounds like a very interesting article! I've never heard of crop mobs but it would be neat to learn more about them.

Reply
Lia Dunn
11/30/2011 12:03:28 am

This article reminds me of the article I did. I read one about gardening farms to help give healthier food to kids. Its interesting to see the farming community trying to stay strong and fight the major cooperations.

Reply



Leave a Reply.